Appraca Centrab

Exploring Progressive Modes of economic and financial cooperation in the Asia Pacific Region

Organization Profile


The Asia-Pacific Rural and Agricultural Credit Association (APRACA) is a non- government international organization composed mainly of central banks, agricultural banks, development banks, commercial banks, apex organizations and federations of financial institutions, rural development institutions, institutes and non-government institutions in the Asia Pacific region involved directly in agricultural credit and rural development.   APRACA was established in 1977 on the occasion of its First General Assembly held in New Delhi, India.  Its main goal is to alleviate poverty in the Asia Pacific Region through rural and agricultural finance by facilitating cooperation as well as exchange of information and expertise among its member institutions. Its headquarters is in Bangkok, Thailand.

Since then, APRACA has grown dramatically in terms of numbers and renown. Now, vitalized by its current membership close to 80 member institutions in more than 20 countries, APRACA has earned a well deserve reputation as the premier organization for rural finance in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Realizing the need for a regional institution for research and training in rural finance and banking, APRACA spearheaded the formation of the Center for Training and Research for Agricultural Banking (CENTRAB).  Launched in Manila, Philippines, on June 19, 1989, CENTRAB serve as APRACA’s training and research arm.  CENTRAB aims to formalize existing informal arrangements to stimulate and facilitate cooperation in the area of training and research and promote better understanding of financial, monetary, banking and economic development issues, particularly as they relate to agriculture and rural areas.

APRACA CENTRAB has a virtual treasure trove of development initiatives, model-building experiences and best practices ready for documentation, analysis and replication.  It continues to tread the path towards enhancing insights on rural finance and development through action research and special studies; nurturing training and human resources development in the field of rural and agricultural finance; and promoting international cooperation in the transfer of innovative technology, ideas and practices in rural finance and development between and among member and partner institutions and countries.

CENTRAB caters to the 77 member institutions of APRACA in 21 countries in the Asia- Pacific Region, as follows:

  • Agrakredit Joint-Stock Organization of Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh Bank
  • ASA Bank
  • BRAC
  • Microcredit Regulatory Authortiy
  • Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation
  • Bangladesh Krishi Bank
  • Bhutan Development Finance Corporation Limited
  • National Bank of Cambodia
  • Hattha Kaksekar Limited
  • PRASAC Microfinance Institutions
  • Rural Development Bank of Cambodia
  • Sathapana Limited
  • Agricultural Bank of China
  • Agricultural Development Bank of China
  • CFPA Microfinance Management Ltd.
  • Reserve Bank of India
  • Indian Banks’ Association
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development
  • National Co-operative Agriculture and Rural Development Banks’ Federation Limited
  • National Federation of State Cooperative Banks
  • Oriental Bank of Commerce
  • State Bank of India
  • Vaikunth Mehta National Institute of Cooperative Management
  • Basix Social Enterprise Group
  • Bank Indonesia
  • Bank Bukopin
  • Bank Rakyat Indonesia
  • Bank Jateng
  • Bank Pembangunan Daerah Kalimantan Timur
  • Yayasan Pengembangan Perbankan Indonesia
  • Bank Keshavarzi
  • National Environmental Fund
  • Japan Finance Corporation
  • National Agricultural Cooperative Federation
  • Agricultural Promotion Bank of Laos
  • Ekphatthana Deposit Taking Microfinance Institutions
  • Agro Bank
  • Myanma Agricultural Development Bank
  • Nepal Rastra Bank
  • Agricultural Development Bank
  • Chhimek Laghubitta Bikas Bank Ltd.
  • National Cooperative Development Board
  • Sana Kisan Bikas Bank Limited
  • Rastriya Banijya Bank
  • State Bank of Pakistan
  • Habib Bank Ltd.
  • Faysal Bank Ltd.
  • Pakistan Microfinance Network
  • Micro Options
  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
  • Agricultural Credit Policy Council
  • CARD Mutually Reinforcing Institutions
  • Cooperative Development Authority
  • Kabalikat para sa Maunlad na Buhay, Inc.
  • Land Bank of the Philippines
  • National Livelihood Development Corporation
  • Philippine Crop Insurance Corporation
  • Strategic Investment Development Corporation
  • Alalay Sa Kaunlaran Inc.
  • The Agricultural Guarantee Fund Pool
  • 1st Valley Bank
  • National Association of Microfinance Market Stakeholders
Sri Lanka
  • Central Bank of Sri Lanka
  • Bank of Ceylon
  • Peoples’ Bank
  • Regional Development Bank
  • SANASA Development Bank
  • Union Bank of Colombo
  • National Development Bank PLC
  • Bank of Thailand
  • Bank for Agriculture and Agricultural Cooperatives
  • Cooperative League of Thailand
  • Open Joint-Stock Commercial Bank “Agrobank”
  • Vietnam Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development
  • Vietnam Bank for Social Policies